Pokémon SUN & MOON

Screenshot (14)

OMG!

Screenshot (15)

OOOOOOMG!

Screenshot (16)

OMMMMMMMMG!

Screenshot (17)

AAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! 6 more months!

Screenshot (18)

OHHHH MYYYYY GOOO- wait…

WHAT THE HELL IS THAT???????????????

Ridiculously large clownish noses aside, this new Pokémon update contained lots of information along with a new website.

They revealed the 3 new Pokémon starter: Litten (Lit Kitten), Rowlet ([G]Row Owlet) and Popplio (…). Design-wise the real world inspirations are fairly clear. Litten is a kitten most likely going to become a tiger, Rowlet is an owl, and Popplio is a seal… clown. To be honest I was so excited when I was watching the new trailer, but this was just a major disappointment. The visuals and town looked amazing, I believe character customization is back because the trainer characters didn’t look anything special (either that or they just put in generic placeholders), there are cars, and the region is called Alola (really subtle Pokemon, really subtle). We are also shown are two new legendaries, but no English names have been revealed so far. Below you can see some artwork of the 3 new starters and hated them. 10 minutes later I had come to love them… except Popplio’s nose, I cannot get over that. I guess it’s an acquired taste. So far I’m team Litten, but depending on the evolutions, I may gravitate to Rowlet. I’ve never chosen a Grass starter before because I am a fire trainer for life, but I could not handle Chimchar making Piplup my only ever Water starter. And a story for another time: how Tepig and Oshawott worked together to make me lose a shiny Mincinno!

Screenshot (19)

A literal flaming hairball.

Screenshot (21)Screenshot (22)

Cute! It has a signature move called Leafage that I have never heard of before. I don’t know why it’s the only one to have gotten a new move. Also this is the first time the starters already know a move with type advantage, so won’t the rival battle be hard? I hope that guy with the green hair isn’t our rival… I also just realized I’ve only ever chosen the games whose names have come first. Bit of an odd discovery, but still 🙂 You can guess without knowing anything else I’ve already decided to buy Sun, and my brother wants Moon. We’re one of those lucky pairs who always wants the opposite games. Except for that one time he coerced me into getting Black 2 even though I liked Reshiram. Enough about me, bask in the power of the obnoxious clown, reminds me bit of Ash’s Oshawott.

Screenshot (23)Screenshot (24)

All images were sourced from The Official Pokémon Sun & Moon Website so be sure to check that out. The official date of release is November 18th worldwide (in listed countries), and since they’ve included a date, it’s not likely to change.

Speaking a bit about the legendaries, I’m unsure what I feel about them. They’re like a night sky projector or those pixel games. The lion is obvious, but the Moon one is a bit odd. It’s definitely bat inspired and has a moon theme like Cresselia, but its body and face are…. odd. You can see everything (even possibly the Moon one’s signature move) in the video below.

Just when I thought I was done, I saw this ad that came out 2 hours ago.

It is so adorable!!! There are many things that you can see here that weren’t in the other video.

  1. CHARACTER CUSTOMIZATION IS BACK!!!

Screenshot (34)

With one extra skin colour + the girl has a very odd rabbity hat if you notice in the American announcement.

2. The Professor

Screenshot (33)

We get a better view of the region’s professor. We also see this nifty feature that’s like a new PokéNav or whatever they had in Black & White. We can’t tell if this is a proper feature or just something at the start of the game but it’s exciting 🙂

3. Your Hometown

Screenshot (35)

Though much bigger than most, this is far from doubt, the new hometown. We can see its inspiration below. This makes me think that the towns (like Hawaii) will be a collection of islands. Maybe Mr. Briney and Peeko will make a return as your personal chauffeurs. HA! Several parts of the town can be seen more closely in the American announcement.

Screenshot (37)

4. The Story

Screenshot (39)
It basically says something along the lines of “Cheers on reaching Alola after your long trip.”

Notice the taped boxes in the background.

Screenshot (43)

Notice the boxes. Similar to the way Shohei moves to Hawaii (with only his mom as far as we can see!) the character must have just moved to the Alola region like May and Brendan in the Hoenn.

And here are the quotes in Japanese that inspired Shohei to run out and play with the others. I don”t know Japanese so I’ve used trusty old Google translate and my common sense.

Screenshot (38)

Google: “It well! Who even the first time of the land at a loss.”

Me: Considering the context of the Japanese announcement it most definitely means “It’s okay, whoever comes to the land for the first time get’s lost (is at a loss).”

Screenshot (40)

Google: “All right, let’s go!”

Me: Yeah… that seems right.

Screenshot (41)

Google: “If there are Pokémon, go even where!”

Me: “If you have Pokémon, you can go anywhere!”

5. Your Rival

Screenshot (42)

This jerkface who reminds me too much of Hajime Kindaichi.

6. Signature moves

Screenshot (30)

If you watch the leftmost TV screen closely, you’ll notice the Sun one using it’s signature move. The Moon one’s is more explicit in the American announcement.

Screenshot (32)

7. Another town?

Screenshot (31)

In the background you can see another town or just a different part of you hometown along with Pokémon’s hopes and dreams.

And finally… AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!

Screenshot (36)

Can’t wait for more releases. Let me know if you noticed something I missed 🙂

Leave a Reply

